300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Detective schedules

What's a "typical" schedule for a first-grade homicide detective in a very large city? (I realize there are no "typical" schedules, so just looking for a few examples.

Not a city or designated homicide unit. Just a regular station investigator.

I work mostly a Monday-Friday, 9-5 kind of schedule; but with a weekend rotation, an afternoon (3-11) shift weekly, and being on call, which coincides with your afternoon. We also work holidays. Although it sounds fairly straight forward, it’s erratic. My schedule changes usually once or twice a week, for one reason or another.

Your weekend rotation is dependent on how many people are in it, so I work a weekend every 6th, and then work Friday- Tuesday, and catch everything Friday afternoon through Monday morning.
    I make my living on Irish welfare.

Comment

Why does it matter to your story? Seriously. In my experience, detectives work day shift and are subject to call outs whenever they are needed after hours. Someplace like Chicago may have detectives scheduled 24/7, but I don't know.

Comment

Originally posted by just joe View Post
        Why does it matter to your story? Seriously. In my experience, detectives work day shift and are subject to call outs whenever they are needed after hours. Someplace like Chicago may have detectives scheduled 24/7, but I don't know.
        I like details. Even if they never make it into the final draft, the more knowledge, the better.

Comment

Originally posted by ancilla89 View Post

I like details. Even if they never make it into the final draft, the more knowledge, the better.
          The thing is......................................a REALISTIC police drama is boring. Nobody would buy the true story of what a cop does on a daily basis.