300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Perceptions of British policing

I am a serving British police officer and I am currently writing a book about Policing in Britain, focussing on public attitudes to Policing and how Policing itself has developed in the last two hundred years. It is purely for my own entertainment but I am trying to ensure that it is accurate and well researched whilst hopefully not being too dull.

I am hoping for responses to two questions.

The first is a response, whether long or short, to the question: "What is your perception of British police officers?" This can either be drawn from working with British officers or from what you have read or seen on TV and in movies. Since I am interested in perception, I am interested in both. Your perception does not have to be complimentary - I'm pretty thick skinned and I won't take it personally. Also, I recognise that it is a very broad question - however you interpret it, that's the response I'm interested in.

The second question is aimed at people who are interested in the history of policing in their own countries. It is: "What police forces or other public law enforcement bodies are you aware of whose officers were initially unarmed but which transitioned to routinely arming them?" For the avoidance of doubt, by "unarmed" I mean not routinely carrying a firearm. An explanation as to why the transition was made would also be extremely helpful.

Any answers, gratefully received. I will also post this in International Policing - apologies if that is contrary to any site rules.

I'm a little bit waayy, a little bit wooah, a little bit woosh, I'm a geezer.

Don’t quote me, but I believe that the NYPD, which was originally modeled after your Metropolitan Police, was initially unarmed. We’re talking 1850’s or so.