300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Popping the question...

I'm freakin' nervous/scared/hesitant/excited...everything in the book! I've been dating my g/f for 8 months now, but she's been one of my best friends since I started going to UW-Stevens Point (she goes there too, I graduated May 20th) 3 years ago. Her and I had a talk the other night and something in my mind clicked... I want to propose. I knew since the day I met her that she would eventually be my wife... but I just didn't know when. Now, I do know, but I'm not at all prepared. I don't even have a ring (heck, I don't even know how to pick one out). I'm going to visit her this coming weekend and want to ask her parents for their blessing. Again, no clue how to do it, what to say, etc.

My best friend told me to use a ring-pop and be goofy, yet serious, about it. Then, I would have the opportunity to pick out a ring for her, and she could help pick it out too, apparently that's what women are wanting to do these days?

I need all the advice I can get from some of you that have gone through this before. Even some of the ladies in the audience... what's your advice? Should I better prepare myself? Do I wait until I can afford a ring? How do I ask her parents?

sigpic

take yourself down to Wal-mart and talk to ladies behind the counter, and they can guide you..on rings..even if you don't buy one there, you 'll have an idea
    "come on vacation, leave on probation"

Comment

Hmmmm...well, its been a lonnngggg time since i've been proposed to, but i will say a couple things.

Things may have changed about the women picking out the ring. My ex- picked out mine, and i liked that. But younger people will tell you the way things are now, i guess.

I would def take your time and prepare yourself. You are excited now, and you can keep that excitement, and still prepare yourself so you're not so nervous, just excited.