• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• California - Where Earning A Six Figure Salary is Low Income

Section 8 assistance anyone?

https://www.sfgate.com/expensive-san...s=mcnewsletter

Going too far is half the pleasure of not getting anywhere

It's truly disgusting. It baffles me how it can cost that much to live somewhere

Comment

Originally posted by L-1 View Post
      I qualify.

Comment

Originally posted by m.p.c View Post
        It's truly disgusting. It baffles me how it can cost that much to live somewhere
        We aren’t any different downstate. Look at the NYC metropolitan area.

$140,000 in Nassau County to $129,166 in Westchester County.

Dutchess and Putnam used to be affordable for regular people, but have turned into the new Westchester. I’m safe for now but the writing is on the wall for Columbia, which was “upstate” when I grew up here.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.loh.../amp/446959002

I make my living on Irish welfare.

Comment

Originally posted by L-1 View Post

Before NYSP got our big raise in the mid-2000’s, a top pay Trooper on Long Island would have qualified for welfare.

My friend who just retired told me when he checked into Troop L after the academy, the Sergeant actually gave him a brochure on how to sign up for public assistance.
          I make my living on Irish welfare.

Comment

That should really read “The Bay Area...”

I can go to Kings County and get one of the largest homes in the County for what I could sell my house for. I could also get a really nice house and land for what I bought my house for.

The only problem is it’s located in Kings County. There is a reason land is unbelievably cheap in the interior of California. That reason is climate. Dual assaults from Bay Area and LA Basin smog and the majority of the south Valley used to be a 3 foot deep lake (and still floods like that on occasion..)