300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2 Questions...

There is a local body shop that is trying to charge my best friend an additional 300+ for using her credit card...

Can they do that?

I mean it sounds like "It's there shop they can do what the want"

But-- I'm just asking what people think.

and also...

Can an Off-duty officer 'threaten' someone?

No with bodily harm, but a friend was telling me a story about how he was speeding (10ish over) and a person rolled up next to them and said "SIR, I am an OFF DUTY POLICE OFFICER- Slow down or I will be mailing you a ticket"

Some businesses do charge a buck or so extra for using credit cards... Reason being, merchants are charged a fee for using the credit services provided and to cut their losses, they pass the expense to the consumer. This will vary with the amount of the transaction but 300 is high. What is the original amount due?

As for the second question, it is not a practice used here and I don't believe stories of "friends"... But thats just me.

Comment

Originally posted by ksadek
      a person rolled up next to them and said "SIR, I am an OFF DUTY POLICE OFFICER- Slow down or I will be mailing you a ticket"
      I'm sure that happens occasionally, and I'm equally sure that guy is NOT a cop.
      If trees could scream, would we be so cavalier about cutting them down? We might, if they screamed all the time, for no good reason.

---Jack Handey

Comment

There is a local body shop that is trying to charge my best friend an additional 300+ for using her credit card...

Can they do that?

I mean it sounds like "It's there shop they can do what the want"

But-- I'm just asking what people think.

and also...

No with bodily harm, but a friend was telling me a story about how he was speeding (10ish over) and a person rolled up next to them and said "SIR, I am an OFF DUTY POLICE OFFICER- Slow down or I will be mailing you a ticket"