300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Commute to Work

Hey folks, currently I live in the city I am a police officer in. My commute to the station is about 5 minutes and to the school I am assigned to is about 10 minutes. However, I live in an end of group townhouse (about 1100sq ft), with a small yard and no assigned parking (officially..but the residents do utilize the "honor system" of allowing 2 cars per house to park in front). My guests, as well as my other cars and my patrol car, have to park in the "visitor" spaces in the center of the development. I am looking at a home near my folks' place, literally a 5 minute walk, that sits on an acre next to a small farm, on a pretty much dead-end street, in the boonies. I know most of the people there since I grew up there, and my fiancee and jog/run on the street without fear of getting run over....

Now, here's the reason I posted this... The drive goes from 5 - 10mins to 30 - 40mins, depending on circumstances (traffic, weather, etc).... I have a take-home car so the gas to and from work is not an issue for me, but my fiancee' has to drive further to her work now too (which is right outside the town I work in) with her personal car.

So, do you feel the 40min trade-off for the bigger house on 1ac on a dead end street in the sticks is worth it from a closer, smaller, townhouse?
    The sheep generally do not like the sheepdog. He looks a lot like the wolf. He has fangs and the capacity for violence. The difference, though, is that the sheepdog must not, cannot and will not ever harm the sheep. Any sheepdog who intentionally harms the lowliest little lamb will be punished and removed.

I Am the Sheepdog.

"And maybe just remind the few, if ill of us they speak,
    that we are all that stands between
    the monsters and the weak." - Michael Marks

sigpic

For me, yes. But I commuted up to 2 hours into Manhattan, so take that for what it's worth.
    I’ll die with blue in my veins.