300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VA Disability Compensation

Has any combat veteran applied for disability compensation? I am a Desert Storm veteran and I was wondering how does one go about getting started.
    Not all men can be U.S. Marines that is why there is the Army, Navy and Air Force.

Originally posted by valetudo39 View Post
    Has any combat veteran applied for disability compensation? I am a Desert Storm veteran and I was wondering how does one go about getting started.
    You don't have to be a combat veteran to apply for VA disability. Just have service in the military. Do you have a copy of your medical record? If you do, make another copy that will be turned over to the VA. Go to a service organization like Disabled American Veterans, VFW, American Legion. You can find reps at the VA Benefits Office building. This is a free service to you. A rep from the organization you choose will help go over your medical records and fill out the form needed to apply for Disability. They will take a copy of your medical record as supporting evidence for your claim and they will walk it over to the compensation office to get the ball rolling. It can take up to 9 months to get an answer from VA as to your disability rating, but when you get that letter keep it safe. If you don't agree with the results you can request a re-evaluation and they will review your medical records a second time. It's usually better to dispute the first determination you most likely will get an increase in determination. The compensation from VA starts at 10% that is $110 a month for the rest of your life. If you hit 30% compensation amount depends depends on having dependents or not. This disability letter can be used to get higher veteran preference points for federal employment.
    Last edited by GIOSTORMUSNRET; 08-08-2011, 12:12 AM.
    GOD IS A NINJA WITH A SNIPER RIFLE, WAITING TO TAKE YOU OUT.

"For weapons training they told me to play DOOM"