300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm having a "Smurfette" day!

I've been ill for the last couple days. Having a cold in the middle of the summer sucks. I tossed and turned ALL night last night. The best sleep I had was between 5am and 7:03am. Why 7:03?

I awoke to yelling. It wasn't fighting. It was the "something just went REALLY WRONG" type of yelling.

I grabbed clothes off the floor and started putting them on as I was running towards the stairs. I've been running to nighttime fire and EMS calls for 15 years. You would think that I'm pretty well practiced in getting dressed and navigating stairs at the same time. Apparently I'm a little rusty. Right foot hit the third step, left foot missed the fourth. My butt hit every subsequent step. At least the front door wasn't open.

So I get outside to see what all of the commotion was about. Apparently the liner in our pool gave way and 15 THOUSAND gallons of water came rushing out of a 6" diameter hole in all of 5 minutes.

The neighbor was not so happy. Apparently he was waiting for another few weeks before he flooded the cranbery bog in his back yard.

So we all grabbed buckets and started bailing out window wells, checking foundations, and looking for any other signs of impending doom. None noted. Not much else we can do at this point. No use crying over spilled... water.

So I showered, got dressed, and wandered back to the kitchen for breakfast. I started pulling all the components together... whole-grain english muffins... turkey sausage... egg beaters... orange jui... orange jui... Nope. No orange juice.

Like other people neek their coffee to function in the morning, I need my orange juice. It's not a diabetic thing. It's a psychological, habitual thing. Screw it! I'll just stop at Burger King and pick one up on my way to work.