300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Walters State

I'm a former officer (I worked the road for 6 months before starting the academy) in Virginia and I quit the academy there due to me not being ready but a fair amount of time has passed. Can anyone tell me what Walters State in East TN is like? A couple of questions are, how hard is the PT, what is DT like, and how strict is it?
    Last edited by Tgavwat; 12-23-2020, 03:52 PM.

How were you not ready, leading to you quitting the academy, after being selected?

Comment

• Tgavwat
      Tgavwat commented
      Editing a comment
      I just wasn't ready for it mentally or physically. Also being a dumb 20 year old didn't help. Was going to fail DT made it to week 11 out of 20.
      Last edited by Tgavwat; 12-23-2020, 03:54 PM. Reason: Didn't clarify.

You were NEVER an “Officer”.
    Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

• Tgavwat
      Tgavwat commented
      Editing a comment
      I worked the road for 6 months before the academy, so I do call that being an officer.

Some states, Louisiana included, allow depts to hire and use LEOs for up to one year before they must be POST certified.

So they're actually working the street with absolutely Zero training or certification,.....

This totally saves small depts the risk of wasting academy money on officers that won't pass the FTO stage, but the liability seems high.

Comment

Originally posted by Tgavwat View Post
      I'm a former officer (I worked the road for 6 months before starting the academy) in Virginia and I quit the academy there due to me not being ready but a fair amount of time has passed. Can anyone tell me what Walters State in East TN is like? A couple of questions are, how hard is the PT, what is DT like, and how strict is it?