300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tips and advice for going into an Academy

I am currently in the process of applying for an academy. Its a bit smaller usually only graduating 12-18 students per session (it's held twice a year), but I was told that they are extremely strict and hold their students to high standards. Classes meet for 10 hours a day 5 days a week. I have all my paperwork finished and turned in and have spoken with the director of the program in person. So I'm just waiting to receive a response in the mail but I have been told that I should have nothing to worry about. I am a bit nervous for this experience. I am a 4'10 female who just turned 21. I literally turned in my application the day after I met the age requirement. I have my bachelor's in human development and family science and am more sure of and determined to succeed in this program and career path than I have been with anything else before. I want to be taken seriously in this career. I know im smaller and younger than many applicants but I am willing to put in as much work as it takes to make sure that I succeed. I am putting myself through the academy instead of going in through a department hire and I guess overall I am looking for a bit of advice on certain topics.

I was able to clear all physical requirements for the academy, including the 6' wall and 150 pound drag but what should I work on physically? Any sections of the curriculum anyone struggled with in particular?

When should I start looking into department hiring or will certain programs help out with that? I guess I am just unsure about the transition from the school to work even though I know that's getting ahead of myself.

Also any advice for my uniform. There are a few items that aren't provided specifically the boots (black that must be able to be shined). I wear a size 3.5-4 in womens and can't find a pair anywhere.