300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Contra Costa Academy

This might be long, so I appreciate anyone staying till the end.

Quick backstory. Im 32, been applying to be a police officer since 20.5. Got far in the process a couple times, San Francisco once said I lied on poly, I didn't, and then next time I made it to backgrounds and got the "thanks but no thanks" letter in the mail. Vegas said I also lied on my poly graph and didn't like my driving record (this was in 2009). All other agencies I have applied for either didnt make it past backgrounds or sat on their eligibility list until it expired. I started to re apply again around a year ago, and realized this was what I wanted to do with my life. I have a degree in CJ and haven't had any real issues in my background. I got arrested in 2011 for 653k (possession of a switchblade). It was a LEO knife, cop wanted to talk to me out of the car on a traffic stop, I told him I had a knife on me, he pulled it out and then I was arrested. Really lame, but my fault for not knowing it was illegal, lesson learned.

So since I want this career so badly, I applied to self sponsor myself in the Contra Costa Sheriff academy, and got accepted. There were 5 spots (at the time of interview) with 13 applicants. Not sure how many self sponsor applicants got the acceptance letter, but the academy starts may 14th, it is march 31st now. I am very excited to be apart of this academy, and to be honest really didn't think I was going to get in since I have been getting rejected in this field for so long. I have spoken with officers, and lots of them said they couldn't get hired and put themself through the academy and actually started getting paid while in the academy. I have gotten a personal trainer to help me get into shape, and help that I do not hurt myself since I really haven't been working out, the only thing I do is play ice hockey once a week.