300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vet vs was in the military

Ok I've read several of the comments/questions regarding having a DD214 prior military etc, but I'm still confused on the best way to approach this. All of the depts I'm applying to ask some form of the question, were you were ever in the military or are you a veteran. Here's the back ground and why this is confusing for me. In July of '93 I went into the Navy. I ended up with an uncharacterized entry level separation listed as erroneous enlistment with an RE3 code. They took a chance on me because I already had a degree in Electrical Engineering. They waivered my knee surgeries at MEPS but I ended up having more issues with my knees. I was in less than 3 weeks. I have a DD214 but I don't fit the legal definition of a Veteran. My question is is it OK to answer the question differently depending on how it's worded. On one application it asks if I am a veteran, and another it simply asks if you were in the military. Legally I am not a vet. Is it best to say yes because I have a DD214, or say that no I'm not and explain later if they question it. I think it would look bad to say no but then turn around and list the time on past employment history and turn in a DD214. Obviously if they ask if I was in the military that's an affirmative and life goes on.
    "There are three and only three ways to reform our Congressional legislation, familiarly called, the ballot box, the jury box and the cartridge box". Stephen Decatur Miller

"The state must declare the child to be the most precious treasure of the people. As long as the government is perceived as working for the benefit of the children, the people will happily endure almost any curtailment of liberty and almost any deprivation." -Mein Kampf, Adolf Hitler
    Sound familiar.........