300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• overweight/not in shape

the city of Miami is opening up their application soon, and I'm going to apply.

I'm horribly overweight and not in shape at all. I started working out on Monday, but the gym is kicking my ***.

should I even bother applying if I'm in this bad physical condition?

Apply, you probably won't make it anyway... but it will give you experience with the process and motivation. Most hiring processes take several months. If you're diligent you should get into fair shape in six to nine months.

You should be in reasonably good shape regardless of your profession, but it is critical for peace officers (all the "Officer Bag O'Doughnuts" you see out there notwithstanding).

Get with an organized program (Crossfit, boot camp, whatever) that has an instructor who can help you progress without injuring yourself and offer other advice.
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." -- GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

"With a brother on my left and a sister on my right, we face…. We face what no one should face. We face, so no one else would face. We are in the face of Death." -- Holli Peet

Comment

I'm not a police officer so I can't speak to your question directly, but in my own search for motivation/guidance I happened upon this post a weeks ago and thought I might share it with you in hopes you can draw some inspiration from it: http://forums.officer.com/t173176/

On a personal note, I'll be attending an academy in less than 2 weeks and while I consider myself in good physical condition, running is not among my strong suits. However, I like to think if the gentleman in the above mentioned post was able to meet his goals and lose 45bs doing so then surely I can meet my own goals if I want this badly enough. Best of luck to you, and I hope that post helps.
      Once more into the fray
      Into the last good fight I'll ever know
      Live or die on this day