300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Napa Valley Police Academy

I haven't found anything related to the Napa basic police academy in California yet so I wanted to make a thread for other people that are interested in joining it or have already graduated from it. I am interested in anyone's experience in that police academy because I am going to be attending it in January. Any reviews or input is greatly appreciated. Have a nice day

I recently attended an advanced officer school there. It seemed to me that it was a pretty squared away, no-nonsense academy. Cadets looked good, staff were knowledgeable. Area is fantastic!!
    Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

Thank you CCCSD! Im looking forward to it.

Comment

I'm applying as we'll.. Have you applied to any jobs yet? I heard that quite a bit of departments go to recruit in Napa.. Best of luck Euyup

Comment

I graduated from this academy. It's a more academic-minded academy. Expect to do research projects and presentations. As far as PT goes, the program focuses mostly on running, with a few ab days and little to no strength/circuit training (which is unfortunate). Napa is much cheaper (as in at least a thousand dollars cheaper) and much more relaxed than the two other academies in the area - Alameda and Contra Costa LETC. I can't comment on the Sacramento area academies because I don't know much about them. I spent ten weeks at the LETC, so I'm familiar with that academy as well. You will have drill instructors who will scream at you, which may catch you off guard if you've never been in a paramilitary environment before. However, you aren't going to get "smoked" on a daily basis like you would at the LETC.

Napa is nice in that you get a decent amount of time to bond with your fellow cadets, and each cadet is given the opportunity to hold a leadership role. Later on, permanent squad sergeants and a class lieutenant are chosen by the class and staff collectively.