Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Question about qualifications and college.

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about qualifications and college.

Hello guys, i am just starting the academy, finally i got the courage to join , it was difficult since i have a family, and not a great income, i have been working since i graduated from high school, to support my wife and daughter. So i never got around to spare some time to go to school and become what i wanted to be a police officer, so now at 27 I'm joining the academy i already passed the Florida BAT test, and the physical ability test, and ready to start classes.
    i never got around to do two years of college , i was wondering if this is going to be a problem when i graduate from the academy, or if i have good chances of landing a job even without the two years of college, also i will finish the academy when I'm 28, is this a alright age to start?

I apreciate your commenrs and answers thank you.
    Last edited by cgarvich; 04-22-2011, 10:47 AM.

Obviosly, I'm not from Florida...

But my $.2: You'll need at least a 2 year degree to be compete. Any age under 40 is a good age to start.

Good Luck!

Comment

In my months of searching different Departments in Central/South Florida, a lot of them want a two year degree or higher OR 3+ years of Active Duty Military experience.

Comment

You should probably do some practical research prior to spending 5 grand or so on a "academy certificate".

Those schools will take your money gladly----------------but if you don't meet the minimum qualifications for the job---the minimums published by the local departments---------------------you can't get hired.

Look around before you spend a lot of money---------------------spend some time on the phone calling area departments to see what their hiring guidelines are if you can't find the information on the net.