300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Policing the Mentally Ill

What kind of training takes place in the U.S. concerning the mentally ill? Too many officers and too many patients get killed here in Canada.

http://www.cmha.bc.ca/files/policereport.pdf

research Crisis Intervention Team

Comment

I got through a few pages of this paper before I wanted to strangle whoever wrote it. It's typical BS written by someone who has the luxury of sitting back and second guessing men and women who do a very dangerous job with very little information and then armchair quarterback them. For instance, "The majority of arrests of people with mental illness are for non-serious crimes that were either directly or indirectly related to their illness." Oh yes, because as an officer I have the luxury of deciding if someone committed a crime because they are mentally ill? So when mentally ill subject beats the stuffing out of some guy in a gas station, I as an officer should stand back and go, "oh I can't arrest him!!! He is mentally ill!!!" It's garbage.

"In October 2000, the BC Chief Coroner issued a report following an inquest. A man who was distressed and suffering from a mental illness began acting violently in the emergency department of a BC hospital. The police were called and as a result of the police action, the man was killed." As a result of the police action the man was killed??? Really, it wasn't because he lost it on hospital staff and started acting like a psycho? It was because the police acted wrong?