300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from North Florida. :)

Hello everyone, Im not new to reading the forums, but just now getting to post to them-

I work as a part time dispatcher for a small town (30,000pop) PD- and graduated from my BLE academy back in August of 2006.

My current goals are to keep in the part time position, go to college for the next year (on a $2,500 grant), and to reserve work somewhere {ive started an app for reserve officer with Florida Fish and Wildlife}. See how this combination goes for me (things I plan rarely go as planned though).

Ive put in several applications- 80% of them droped me after the first interview- and I think, or rather I know its because I dont have previous experiance NOR do I have a military background- I think those two things hurt me a BUNCH- my only way to help counteract those is to finish my spanish I, II, and III classes come this next year at the college- and have a boost there over some people- I think it would help anyhow.

Im a PADI certified diver, love the outdoors, and swimming, on the computer a bunch. And for once in my life, (doing dispatch) I feel happy with the work Im doing- its not being an officer on the streets yet- but Im most of the way to that goal- and at least im in the enviroment I want to be in now. Its not wally-world or fry-shoveling. and my city is part of the FRS. So I get an early start on that before Im even an officer.

I hope to post on here alot more- I visit officer.com at least twice a day, its too helpful for me between my emails, the forums, and the 'help wanted' sections.

Hope to talk to all of you more! - Jarod
    Updated on: 12/28/09

Good to meet you. Good luck on your job search. You mentioned Spanish classes being the way in. I was wondering what type of degree You are working toward?
    Reality is only a perception

Comment

right now, an AA degree- and Ill take general classes as electives (crazy eh?)