Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New USMS Prospect

Hello from Alpine, TX.

I have been considering law enforcement for several years now, and I finally set my sights on becoming a US Marshal Deputy.

I served in the Marine Corps from 2005 to 2009. I finished my Bachelors of Science in 2016. And I am about to start on a Masters of Criminal Justice.

I have no law enforcement background and I have been working in the Ag industry since I left the Marines. After talking to a US Marshal friend of mine (who is also the recruiter for the Alpine, TX area) I have decided to start on my Masters, keep improving my fitness and wait on a job posting to hit.

Any advice or guidance is appreciated as I mark time until my chance to apply comes around. This is a great forum filled with a lot of information. Thanks to all of you that take the time to contribute.

Advice (I applied for USMS this year).

The hiring process for them is all over the place, if you do apply act like you never applied.

Comment

That’s what I’ve heard. It seems some of the process is kept a mystery.

I’m waiting to apply for Region 7, hoping to get a spot in Alpine if possible.

Comment

Study something besides CRJ. Make yourself more marketable

Keep a tab on USAjobs and don't put all your eggs in one basket

Comment

Marketable to the federal law enforcement community in general? Or the USMS?

With my lack of experience/knowledge in law enforcement and the justice system, I thought a MCJ would give me a small foundation of knowledge in a career field I am pursuing.

I have considered the Masters of Business Administration program as well and was told that would also be marketable. That would definitely supplement my private sector endeavors should I not succeed in getting into the Marshals.