Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New kind of animal

Hello everybody,

Just got accepted to the forum so i'm gonna introduce myself.

I am a 27yo IT engineer living in NY for a year and a half now. I was before that in Colorado and before that in France.
    Unfortunately that's where the story gets complicated. I am not a citizen yet, only here on a working VISA but i happened to fall in love with your country so i'm in the process to try and become one.

Now regarding my occupation, i need to change, i've been doing it for only 3 years but that was enough for me to realize that it's not what i want to do. Sitting behind a desk 8 hours a day is not fulfilling and totally boring to me.
    I've always been wanting to help others and at the same time i have always had a huge respect and been appealed to Law Enforcement/Military Corps(i tried to get into a military medical school before getting my engineering degree but i was too young to make it work by giving the amount of work that was needed i guess). Now, i'm getting older and i know that i don't want to lose any more time waking up every morning for something that i don't like and that is not "me".
    Ideally, i would like to become a K-9 handler, and no, unfortunately, i don't have any experience with dog training but i have some time before obtaining my citizenship that i can use to remedy that, so i'm still hopeful and open to any advice or recommendations.

I know my situation is a little bit different from most here, but i'm hoping i'm not the only one and that some of you will be able to shed some light on how to make the dream happen.

Anyways, that's me. Thank you for your attention