Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transitioning Handler

What’s up everyone,

I figured I’d take the time to make an introduction post. I’m currently a K9 Handler in the USAF and have been in for approximately 5 years. With the deployment tempo and the amount of wreckening on my body, it isn’t worth staying enlisted 20 years for a crappy retirement check. I got my bachelors degree to try and become an Officer but thats like winning the lottery. In the works of going federal at the moment... just trying to see which agency is going to pick me up.

TSA is hiring EDD Handlers. Start there, get in, then find someplace to land...if you want K9.

No agency will “pick you up”. You have to apply and pass all the steps, each time. You WON’T go into a K9 slot until you earn it. Seems there is still this false expectation that Vets get to bypass everything and just show up for a job.

Start applying so that when you ETS, you are ready to go.
    Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

Originally posted by CCCSD View Post
      TSA is hiring EDD Handlers. Start there, get in, then find someplace to land...if you want K9.

No agency will “pick you up”. You have to apply and pass all the steps, each time. You WON’T go into a K9 slot until you earn it. Seems there is still this false expectation that Vets get to bypass everything and just show up for a job.

Start applying so that when you ETS, you are ready to go.
      Already halfway through the process with SS and CBP, I just said that as in which agency I can make it all the way through with. Thanks for the info though!

Comment

I was Air Force Security Forces as well, but never K9... you'll probably start at the bottom and have to work up to handler, but the above mentioned are good choices, plus DoD has a few civie K9 handlers too.
        USAF VETERAN 2004-2012
        "The sheep pretend the wolf will never come, but the sheepdog lives for that day."-LTC Grossman