300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Introductions Are in Order

Hey, my name is Andy. I am 25 years old and live in Fairfield, Ohio, which is about 20 miles north of Cincinnati. I have a BA in History, and an MS in Criminal Justice from the University of Cincinnati. I am currently a security officer at a local medical center, but am trying arduously to obtain a position with a law enforcement agency.

My efforts have not been met with success however. I have some baggage which has hindered me. I have a history of seizures, which got me disharged from the Army. Despite the fact I havent had an episode in over 3 years, and was never medicated for the seizures for more than a couple of weeks afterwards, most agencies I have applied with seem to be holding this against me.

I believe this is unfair for several reasons. Some of you would say that I shouldnt be in law enforcement because I could have a seizure during a vehicle pursuit or whilst drawing down on someone. It is possible, yes. However, I havent had an episode in 3 years, and my first incident wasnt until I was 20 years-old, which would indicate that the condition isnt chronic, but rather sporadic, and possibly done with. Furthermore, there are all sorts of officers on the streets now with various medical ailments, including high blood pressure and cardiovascular problems. I am just as likely to seize during a pursuit as they are to have a stroke or heart attack. Yet, they get to stay on the streets, and I must remain to patrol the corridors of a building.