Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello! - from northern VA

Hello everyone on Officer.com --

I've been reading the forums for a while and gaining tons of helpful and informative advice, so thank you for that!

A quick introduction of me, if you care to read: I am currently a college undergraduate student, graduating this December with a bachelors in Psychology. I'd like to work on improving and strengthening the positive relationship between the police and the members of my community. One day I hope to apply for a special unit of the department and pursue a masters degree.

If anything, researching about this job and reading the forums has really made my respect for officers skyrocket out of the roof-- I honestly didn't think the process was so strenuous! How incredibly wrong I was!

Thank you for reading! I hope I'll be ready enough to apply by the end of December.

((PS: if you have any advice about overcoming the fact that I am a rather small minority female who doesn't look "intimidating", I'd appreciate it. Is "thick skin" just something you are born with, or can you develop it? I understand this is a huge deal for this job. I also value any advice from female officers in how this profession has worked out for them, thanks!))
    Last edited by Zoisite; 10-15-2014, 07:45 PM.

Welcome to O.com and good luck getting hired on. A professional demeanor will overshadow your slight build. Being able to think on your feet and especially, the ability to communicate effectively are far more important than being able to bench 400 pounds.

“Truth is not what you want it to be; it is what it is, and you must bend to its power or live a lie.”

Miyamoto Musashi

“Life Is Hard, But It's Harder When You're Stupid”

George V. Higgins (from The Friends of Eddie Coyle)

Comment

Thank you! That is valuable advice, I will definitely work on professionalism and communication skills.

Comment

Hey Zoisite,