Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just an old retired Soldier

Howdy All!

Retired from the US Army a little more than a year ago, sat on my duff for a few months, then looked into becoming a police officer, after discovering the Defense Industry was downsizing and the ROTC jobs I'd hoped for weren't panning out.

Applied for two departments, passing the PT and written tests, made it all the way to the City Council interview in one - never heard back from them. Was shot down for the other, likely because I'm in my mid-40s, and folks don't want to train a middle-aged combat vet from scratch (of course they never say why you aren't selected - lawsuits and such).

Just as well, was picked up by a regional Security corporation and transplanted to Memphis, where as a branch manager I get to work with an outstanding group of individuals, including some great MPD folks who need some extra income and so do some great security work for us in rougher parts of town.

Looking forward to seeing what I can learn from the subject matter experts here.
    "I cannot consent to place in the control of others one who cannot control himself."

- Robert E. Lee

Welcome to O.com and thank you for serving this great nation.

“Truth is not what you want it to be; it is what it is, and you must bend to its power or live a lie.”

Miyamoto Musashi

“Life Is Hard, But It's Harder When You're Stupid”

George V. Higgins (from The Friends of Eddie Coyle)

Comment

Welcome to O dot com and thank you for your service! Where did you uproot from so quickly to head for Memphis? Did you have to drag anyone along?

You'll learn a lot in here; there are some outstanding veteran military, veteran police officers and outstanding civilians.
      "Snort-laughter is the best medicine"
      ----- Mussel Bound

Don't forget to laugh today. The more implausible it seems, the more you need to.

Comment

Originally posted by MargeGunderson View Post