New to the site and Police Academy

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to the site and Police Academy

Hello obviously I am new here and would like to say hello to all of you.I am currently going through the application process. I have passed my background and polygraph test and going to take my medical test soon. I am going to attend a community-college police academy (self-sponserd) and am very excited. I was hoping to receive some tips or advice on how I should train for academy I start January next year. I am 20 years old 5'7 176lbs and semi fit. Semi fit meaning I've been working out for a couple months now. I am up to 12:30 for the mile and a half run, I run 4 to 5 miles a day and do 50 push-ups and sit-ups before I run. During my warmup I do push-ups, sit-ups, squats,numerous stretches,and weights for example for the weights curl-ups,bench press and some weight squats with 30 lbs dumbbells.

I am also a armed security guard (still looking for a job) and a honor in my law enforcement class from high school.Any advice or tips would be extremely helpful I would like to get to know you all friend request accepted.

Thank you for your time.
    Last edited by tpauley91; 11-18-2011, 07:25 PM.

Hello and Welcome. For the record I am not in LE, just someone who has been through an LE training academy so I thought I would give my 2 cents. Sounds like you're doing good things to prepare for the academy. Generally there is a lot of running, pushups and situps. You mentioned you do 50 of those before running. In what time frame? The 12:30 on the 1.5 is fair by the Cooper standards.
    I'm curious, how are you an armed security guard before 21?

Comment

Sup bro. Sounds like your on a god path. 12:30 is pretty good. Here in St. Louis, its a 1.5 run in 12:18, and thats one of the harder times i believe.
      "Nobody asks to be a hero, it just sometimes turns out that way"

Comment