300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings

I have been reading and posting on this forum for a couple of months and thought I'd make a post in the meet and greet area.

I live and work in the Chicago area where I have lived all my life except for a few years spent in upstate New York. I am a telecom engineer and specialize in working with avaya pbx systems.

I have had an interest in law enforcement since I was a child. As I grew I realized that I probably did not have the physical and mental characteristics that would make for a good police officer and so I pursued other interests. I find it ironic when I read those posts in the Ask the Cop area from guys who "always wanted to be a cop" and they have a clean record except for "X"! I have a completely clean record. I've never even had a moving violation but I know that I wouldn't make a very good cop.

Anyway I did want to share a couple of stories about my best experiences with law enforcement. The first one is from the late '60s and I was only a couple of years old. Obviously I have no memory of this but it is a family story that has gotten told at many family gatherings through the years. My Dad was the Director of Guidance at the high school in the town that I grew up in the far north suburbs of Chicago. He was working on his Masters degree and was planning on taking a class in Texas over one summer in the late '60s.