300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings from the afterlife

The after - being a cop - life, that is. Just happened to trip over your site the other day...lots of good resources and refreshingly professional compared to some other forums I've visited, thus, the first one I've actually joined. I'm a former state police officer and investigator turned college professor teaching criminal justice at a state instution in NY (even though my law enforcement career was in the South). For those of you concerned about leaving LE, all I can tell you is that it's pretty weird. I've been out for over five years now and still think about it constantly, though my current occupation does tend to involve a significant amount of storytelling and rehashing of on the job experiences. At the same time, it's nice not to worry about my pager (an extinct form of communication, for you younger guys/gals) going off at 3 am to go look at dead people. Anyway, enough rambling... one of the main reasons I joined is to keep apprised of the career opportunities available to my students interested in the field, definitely a tough market lately, but likely to improve over the next five years or so.

Looking forward to our future interactions. One last point of clarification perhaps... for anyone who might be more familiar than I: I was briefly reading the forum rules and it stated that some of the forum content is off limits to non-LEO's... how is this generally interpreted? retired? currently sworn? working in the field? Thanks for any insight.

Lots of retired officers post in the cop only section. I dodnt see why anyone would have any issue with that. I think they mean to restrict anyone who has never been an officer.
    Originally posted by FJDave
    GM, you have just set the bar that much higher for the rest of us in our witty, sarcastic responses. I yield to you! Good job, kind Sir!

District B13