300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello There!

Hello everyone. I'm from northern California, and I am currently a community college student and a Security Officer for a local CSD.

When I first entered community college in Spring of 2009, I wanted to be a Veterinary Technician. Animals have always been of interest to me, having many cats, dogs, chickens, rodents, etc. I am also active in my local horse community. However, after barely scraping by in my Intro Chem class, I made the decision to find a new path. I found my true interests lie in Law and Law Enforcement.

So I began by taking some introductory Administration of Justice courses- Juvenile Delinquency, Effects of Drugs, Intro AJ, Criminal Investigations... and chose this degree path. During this time I was working part time as a cashier and facility manager with a local municipality, which helped me scrape by while living at home and going to school.

As of this year, I have been hired at a local CSD as a full time Security Officer. I am in school part time, taking some GE classes and Criminal Law this semester. Next semester I will be back to full time status, finishing my GE and I should be able to transfer within a year to a State University.

I love my job. We are very much like a mini police department, however our patrol just observes and reports to the Sheriff rather than fully respond to calls for service. My job is mainly screening those who enter the community, refusing those who don't belong, and my newfound favorite assignment- dispatching our patrol officers. I think I enjoy it so much because I feel so much more a part of the "Action," without being in the middle of it.