300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from Aspiring ICE Agent

Hello! I thought I should probably take a moment to introduce myself before jumping in here on the forums. I've been lurking here for several months, but only recently signed up.

I'm 24 years old, live in Washington state, and as of December 2008 have a BA in English from Western Washington University. I've been working in hospital security for over two years now. People often ask "What do you do for a living?" When faced with this, I jokingly tell them, "I tie drunk people to beds," mostly because it's always a good conversation starter. It's also the truth. One the the largest portions of my job is de-escalating, and if necessary subduing and restraining, unruly psychiatric and behavioral health patients, which includes people who are intoxicated by a variety of different substances. I also help officers from local police departments and the Border Patrol in handling fit-for-jail patients, inmates brought in for medical treatment, and individuals brought in on pick-up orders.

During my time in security, I've served as a part of the hospital Haz-Mat/DECON team in addition to my regular duties. In spring of 2008 I was fortunate enough to participate in the local portion of the National Incident Management System drill as a Haz-Mat First Responder and a Decon First Responder. It was a great experience, and only increased my desire to learn more about emergency response systems and large-scale disaster preparedness.