Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• arrest procedures

http://forums.officer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=95573

Didn't get much feedback from the training thread, can anybody provide anything. negative or positive.

I'm new to the field, but what caught my attention was when he started resisting, she grabbed ahold of his shirt and they were basically tugging at each other. In that particular situation, as soon as he gets his hands off the trunk, I'm not grabbing his shirt, I'm taking two quick steps back, telling him to get on the ground and at the same time drawing my spray or baton in anticipationi of his failure to comply. He continues towards me, it's for one reason, to assault me. So I'm out of his reach and have my next option drawn before he can wrap me up. The last place I would want to be is in the arms of someone is who bigger and stronger.

She also puts herself between the much larger individual and the individual's car. She easily could have been pinned in between and he could have that as leverage to get at her weapon. Also not sure why, in that position, she was grabbing at his hand. I also don't know why she would reach around him to try to cuff him, puts her off balance.

Also, when being attacked from the front, you can see he is leaning forward at times. When he's leaning forward, grab the back of his head and take him to the ground. Kick him in the shin. Knee him in the groin. Even if you miss it can still distract him.

Comment

What I learned in my job is that once the suspect goes for your weapon, you're authorized to use deadly force, because the suspect is going for a weapon, whether it's on your person on his/her person. Another thing to note was that it was mentioned in the video that she knew he had a warrant. Personally I would've considered this to be a high risk traffic stop and would have radioed for backup. I'm just glad to know she lived through it and that her gun jammed.

Comment