300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GREAT books you never hear about....

I also read this book....about 10 years ago. It would make an AWESOME movie. The following quote is from a review on Amazon.com:

quote:
    The Far Arena brought me back to ancient Rome., July 13, 1998
    Reviewer: [email protected] willie.salem.cc.nj.us from New Jersey, USA

In his novel about an ancient Roman Gladiator who is found and revived in modern times, Sapir has managed to make us believe it could really happen. I read it many years ago, and as others have also described, I lent it to a friend in order to share the wonderful experience. It was never returned. I have been teaching Latin in a public high school for the past 25 years. This story is one that has stayed with me, and I relate the plot summary to my students hoping they will somehow find a copy and read it. One of my favorite parts is when Eugeni is in the hospital and can't figure out why the light appears every time someone puts a hand to the wall. He is sure there must be very attentive slaves with lamps in the ceiling which they light or blow out quickly when the signal is given. Also, the fact that he can't understand the nun when she pronounces Latin as modern scholars assume it was spoken was a source of great levity for me. Bravo to Mr. Sapir for a fantastic and well written story. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

"When you guys get home and face an anti-war protester, look him in the eyes and shake his hand. Then, wink at his girlfriend, because she knows she's dating a *****."
    -Commanding General, 1st Marine Division

I think a great book that would be made into an awesome movie is one by Jack Finney titled Time and Again. It's one of my absolute favorite novels.

quote: