300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lowering Standards

These are questions that are more directed towards the management of most departments, but all are welcome to get in on this discussion.

I'm a sophomore Criminal Justice major in College. I'm also one of the few Campus Safety and Security officers at my university as well. I've been on this site for over a year now both reading through the forums and looking at other career opportunities that have been posted (as well as looking at the different traits many departments would like applicants to have). From talking with my professors, and even looking at the diminishing standards that departments have, it makes me really wonder what is going on with the recruiting and hiring process of most police agencies in America. The specific standards that I'm talking about refer to illegal drug use. I tend to see and hear recruiters state that "experimental" drug use is okay *though not encouraged*. Maybe I'm just being too stringent about this policy, but last time I checked, it has never been okay to use any illegal drug, not even for experimental use. So why even allow it to pass through the interviewing process? I understand that people do change their behaviors over time and mature. However, I do not believe that 24 months is enough time for someone to "kick the habbit" so to say.