300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Traffic cops

I know this has prolly been debated a million times, but I couldn't find it using the search function.

What is your opinion of traffic cops/state troopers? Is there any animosity between traffic cops and patrol officers on your department?

What do you think about traffic cops writing officers from their OWN departments?

I know this is like 20 questions, but what is your personal limit for stopping/writing speeders if the car appears to be an "average Joe mobile" and the driver is courteous/clean driving record? In other words, excluding dirtballs/people with attitudes.

My personal standards were 11 over the limit to stop, 17 over to write IF they were normal citizens with a decent attitude.

Watcha all think?

[ 04-16-2003, 05:51 PM: Message edited by: xrezrunner ]

I'm a city traffic cop. There is only 2 of us that are assigned to traffic in my department. The patrol guys don't have any problem with us. When we're working, they don't have to work wrecks.

I write starting at 10 and over. My write rate is about 95%. A majority of the speeding tickets that I write are for 15+ over.

Average Joe Mobile is who has most of the Average Joe Mobile wrecks I have to work. If Average Joe Mobile would slow down and not run Red Lights, I wouldn't have so many wrecks to work. So, Average Joe Mobile is going to be written an overwhelming majority of the time. Scumbags always get written if not taken to jail.

I have written a cop from my department a ticket before. He really should have gone to jail, but all I needed were tickets to clear up his little Hit and Run. He ended up getting fired.