NEW Welcome Ad

Collapse

Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Multi-Jurisdictional Rec Patrols (Marine, Snowmobile, ATV/UTV, etc.)

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Multi-Jurisdictional Rec Patrols (Marine, Snowmobile, ATV/UTV, etc.)

I've been a cop in my state for over 20 years, and I just learned of a whole area of law enforcement in my area that I never knew existed.

I'm in a state with a lot of outdoor recreation: Lakes, rivers, forests, OHV trails, etc. Many of those areas have law enforcement coverage through the state-level natural resources department (known around here as conservations wardens, but fully sworn LEOs). Also, some sheriff's departments have recreational patrol specialty units that also offer coverage in those areas.

But I recently chatted with a person who is a sworn LEO working for a unit that's not attached to any 1 particular jurisdiction or agency. In this particular case, there is a large river/lake system that spans multiple municipalities and townships. All of those local governments cooperate to fund a marine patrol that works the full-length of the riverway. They also get some funding from the state, as there is less of a need for the natural resources agency to patrol the river with them in place. Their main function is boating safety, but they engage in things like drug interdiction, warrant arrests, and other more traditional police work.

With this new information, I did a bit of research and found there are similar agencies throughout our state. Marine patrols are most common, I also found some that do the same on the off-highway vehicle (OHV) trails and other less-populated natural areas.

How common is this in other states? Anyone ever done it?

It intrigued me a bit because it seemed like it could be an interesting retirement gig for someone who wanted to keep a foot in LE and enjoyed the outdoors.