Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which department?

Hey guys,
    if you read any of my last posts you’ll see that my ultimate goal is to work for the federal government, however I’m in situation and need some advice. I work for a large department where smaller cities contract with us for services. I currently work as a detective in a crime suppression unit and enjoy it a lot.

I used to work in one of the contract cities which has a population of about 60-70k. This city has a high crime rate and was a lot of fun. Recently the mayor and sheriff got into it and the city is breaking off to do their own thing. Both departments are very supportive of their law enforcement.

The smaller city just came out with their wages and benefits and have selected their command staff. They basically chose the most proactive, crime fighting bunch of the county and I have a good reputation among them and I’m being recruited to this department. Their pay is about 10-15k higher than my current salary, but options will be limited. I like the idea of getting a significant pay increase and better benefits but worry about leaving a larger department with more opportunities. Any advice?

Thanks,

15 grand is a lot. Just because there are opportunities does not mean you will be chosen to take advantage of them. On the other hand, how secure Is the new department. It so
    nds like it will be roughly a 100 officer department. That is expensive to start and expensive to walk away from. It is also big enough to have plenty of opportunity.

Comment

Will they hire you into a Dick spot or Sgt spot?
      Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

Ya very pricey, they have a good tax base with a lot of business because they are the most central city in the county. One of the reasons they left is because they wanted significant raises for the officers, but the board would vote it down every time.