300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lateral from NY TO FL or TX

Hello guys I’m currently an officer with the nypd for approx 6 years now, have been looking to relocate around southwest of Florida or Dallas-Fort Worth suburbs , curious if any of you guys have suggestions of what dept to look into in those areas, not looking to work for a big city as after working for one I would never leave to go to another big city , buddy of mine suggested Lee county sheriffs dont really know if working for a PD or sherriffs office, which would be better. What’s the pay like , morale , etc , any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I'm retired, and live southwest of DFW...but I was a cop elsewhere, in a place that paid MUCH more than police work pays around here. I don't think these guys make very much money at all...

Comment

• LF_LI
      LF_LI commented
      Editing a comment
      I appreciate your input , hard to find top pay salaries because most agencies don’t post it lol not saying money is the only factor but it’s part of it

You would probably be better off with Florida. I live in DFW and the housing prices are starting to shoot up because of all the people from high COL areas are now relocating here. State Troopers in TX make fairly good money, wouldn't recommend Dallas PD since their retirement system was put through the ringer. My local PD's officers seem fairly happy, although I think the rising housing costs is going to make it difficult soon living on that salary. Tarrant county Sheriffs office is large for a sheriffs department, and you would probably start off doing jail work for the first few years.
    Last edited by Levithane; 02-07-2021, 06:14 PM. Reason: grammar

Comment

• LF_LI
      LF_LI commented
      Editing a comment