300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Off-Duty ID

I'm a newbie LEO. Have you guys ever had a need for carrying your badge off-duty?

My agency issued a credential & badge wallet, but its bulky. I'm wondering if I should just carry a slimmer ID/credentials wallet without the badge while off-duty for purposes of LEOSA.

I am required to carry my credentials and issued firearm (either Glock 17 or Glock 43) by policy. My credentials and badge are in a separate folding wallet from my normal wallet. My federal creds come with a flat badge that stays inside that wallet. Basically I carry my wallet in my right rear pocket and creds in left rear pocket. Firearm and spare mags are inside the waistband. I wear jeans and shirts that don't scream tactical so I blend in with everyday folks.

I recommend you switch two a two wallet setup so you're not advertising your a cop every time you go to pay for something. People can wear the tacticool clothing and badge on their belt like a cool guy but I don't recommend it. It's like advertising you're not only a cop but armed. EVERY criminal worth their weight in salt will see you and peg you as a threat before you know what is going on. Plus, you'll have less back issues than with carrying one large wallet in a back pocket (your older self will thank you I promise).
    US Army Veteran
    The opinions expressed above are not those of any official capacity or agency. Fix yourself.

Comment

• Badger99
      Badger99 commented
      Editing a comment
      Are feds issued both a flat wallet badge w/creds and a belt/chain badge?

• darkhorse6
      darkhorse6 commented
      Editing a comment
      With my agency yes. One badge goes on a belt clip or on a uniform shirt and the flat badge stays in the credentials.

Thanks. I do carry a separate wallet with my personal items. Just wondering if I should downsize to creds only, no badge.