300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What can machine-learning do for YOU?

So I'm a staff scientist within my company's research team, I work on many advanced projects using machine-learning and digital fingerprinting. At the moment, we mostly focus on network security, but I've been thinking about spinning off a few open source tools as I've been known to do in the past. Been racking my brain trying to figure out what aspects of LE could use technologies like this, that haven't already been written.

In other words, what kind of tools are not widely accessible that could help you to solve crimes (or other problems) with computers? You might end up getting your wish if you post here.

Hmm... no feedback on this. Is there no data analysis left to code?

Comment

I'm tired and not thinking clearly, but I'm sure that tomorrow once I am actually awake, I'll be able to brainstorm a few ideas for you.

Comment

One idea is for a program to organize wanted vehicle data. One of the officers I know uses Excel to organize the plates by the first number, and then by whether they are wanted because of a crime (robbery, burglary, hit and run, etc. should all be divided up), wanted because they are stolen, or wanted because there is a warrant out for the driver. His Excel spreadsheet is effective, but it's gotten pretty messy with the amount of info on it. If you'd like to take this on, PM me and I can give you my e-mail address to discuss details.

Also, maybe some sort of software would be good that could be used to store notes for court about tickets issued, reports written, or anything else. If you'd like to do this one, just contact me as with the other.

I'll try to think up some more ideas later.

Comment