300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Carry on Campus?

I am a full time student at a state university here in Oregon. My school does not allow carrying concealed weapons on campus even with a permit. I have been an explorer for 3 years and am beginning to apply for reserve positions. If or when I am hired as a reserve, would I be legally allowed to carry on campus?

If so, would those of you who are full time officers encourage me to carry or do you think its is unnecessary?

Does anyone on this forum carry on their campus?

Thanks ahead of time for the imput.
    Ty
    [email protected]

Originally posted by TjOregon2005 View Post
    I am a full time student at a state university here in Oregon. My school does not allow carrying concealed weapons on campus even with a permit. I have been an explorer for 3 years and am beginning to apply for reserve positions. If or when I am hired as a reserve, would I be legally allowed to carry on campus?
    Unless things have changed since I worked in Oregon, reserve officers are a kind of red-headed stepchild in terms of training standards and law enforcement status. There may be exceptions, but I don't know of any agency that gives their reserves 24-hour off duty police powers. Without that, your CCW privileges are limited to what is allowed by your CCW permit.

Even if you did get 24-hour police powers as a reserve, the university could bar you from campus when you were armed and not on official police business. They might not be able to tell you that you couldn't carry your gun, but they could tell you that no one will attend classes or participate in college activities while armed. It's the same model that in force at the various Disney properties - Disney won't tell a cop he can't carry his gun, but if he doesn't permit it to be secured in their security office, he is asked to leave the property.