300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Career crossroads

Good evening brothers and sisters. I need some advice preferably from someone who has been in a similar position. I’ve been working for an agency in a major city for the last three years. I love my job. I love my squad. They’re a great bunch of guys and girls and I would no sh*t take a bullet for any of them. I work in a busy inner city district that has plenty of opportunities to get into some shenanigans. It is the best show on earth. A few months ago I was a little disillusioned with how things were going at work and I took a civil service test for a suburban department. Of course things got better at work and I forgot about the test. Much to my surprise I got a call from the suburb last week I am about 99% likely going to get the position. It’s a much smaller agency and the crime rate is very low which I’m concerned about because I like the action my city provides.That being said the salary is almost double what I’m making now without overtime and the schedule is a lot better. I have a wife and two small children and I know this opportunity would provide them a much better quality of life then what I can give them now. I’m just worried I’m going to regret resigning my current job. I love what I do and we’re getting by on my current salary but this new opportunity could mean big things for my family. I want to do right by my family and I don’t want to be selfish but I love being a “ghetto cop”. I’m also a little anxious about starting over and being the “rookie” again. Can anyone give me a little input or advice? Anyone on here leave a busy agency for a slower one and what was your experience adjusting to it? Thanks in advance and stay safe!
    Last edited by Doc311; 02-05-2020, 05:55 PM.

Tough decisions. Do what you love doing with people you love being with, or do something else that will benefit your wife and children.