300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Special Agents doing traffic enforcement

Has anyone ever dealt with that issue before? Federal Special Agent pulling someone over for speeding, stop sign violation, etc?

They can, if it’s allowed per an MOU.
    Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

Sure whatever tickles your pickle. At the end of the day, you're going to end up calling the real police if whatever situation requires more then verbal judo.

Comment

In Colorado some can, some can’t. It usually only happens in cases of obvious threat to public safety, like a DUI, or in support of their federal mission. They aren’t just writing speeding tickets.

There’s an ATF agent in northern Colorado who comes up on our county net for traffic stops every once in a while.
        "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." -- GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

"With a brother on my left and a sister on my right, we face…. We face what no one should face. We face, so no one else would face. We are in the face of Death." -- Holli Peet

Comment

1. Some states give full police powers to federal agents, some give none, and some give limited authority (i.e.- emergency situations, mutual aid, warrant service, etc.).

2. Regardless of the authority, sometimes agents find themselves in situations where action must be taken.

Real life example:

Agent is on duty and enters freeway ramp and notices the truck in front of him swerve. When on freeway, truck begins to swerve even more, crossing lanes and forcing other drivers to evade.

Agent calls 911 and is advised no state police units are in the vicinity. Agent is aware local agencies do not work the freeways as a matter of policy.

Agent observes a road crew in the distance, working on a bridge. Construction barrels on road.

Agent watches the truck careen into three barrels at 80mph. Barrels fly off the road.