300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LEOSA Question in KY

Im a state corrections officer in Kentucky and have an interesting dilemma.

According to KRS 196.037 Department personnel to have powers of peace officers.
    (1) All personnel of the department, while acting for the department in any capacity entailing the maintenance of custody over any prisoners, shall have all the authority and powers of peace officers.
    (2) All department personnel who are officially requested by a law enforcement agency in a county of Kentucky or by the Department of Kentucky State Police to assist in the apprehension of a prisoner who has escaped from the legal or physical custody of the Department of Corrections or a detention facility of the Department of Corrections shall possess, while responding to and for the duration of the matter for which the request was made, the same powers of arrest as peace officers.
    (3) Probation and parole officers, while acting for the department in any capacity entailing the maintenance of custody or supervision of any confined prisoner, paroled prisoner, escaped prisoner, probationer, or other person otherwise placed under their supervision shall have all the authority and powers of peace officers.

My question is this: it has been said that as long as you have some form of peace officer powers, even if its only on duty and in a specific geographical area, Departmental ID, and a firearms qualifications card up to date, you SHOULD be covered under LEOSA. While on duty we have peace officer powers, even outside the institution (hospital/Court trips) and we have apprehension and arrest authority though only for certain laws (IE escape contraband). We are issued weapons for certain posts.