300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Time to stir up the pot a bit.

I was a cop from 1971 to 1995. Worked uniform for 13 years, plain clothes for 11 years. Retired as a small town chief.

One of my pet peeves has always been uniforms and accessories displayed. Badge and name tag, okay in my book. A shoulder patch identifying the agency is okay. A national flag doesn't offend my sensibilities. In larger agencies there can be some benefits from rank insignia (sergeant stripes, lieutenant or captain bars, etc) so it is clear to everyone who is in charge. Beyond these things I find myself wondering what is necessary or operationally desirable, and what is pure nonsense.

I have seen so many agencies, and individual officers, who seem to think that projecting the image of a banana republic general is "cool". Collar insignia, marksmanship medals, fancy chains with whistles, it seems that the more accessories that can be added the better the cop or greater the authority.

I see cops with duty belts loaded down with more extraneous gear than I ever carried as an airborne combat infantryman in Vietnam. In recent decades BDU trousers and combat boots (sometimes bloused like a paratrooper's boots) seem to have become the norm in many areas. External body armor is becoming fairly common (not the ballistic vests worn under a uniform shirt, but more like military issue stuff).

Tacti-Cool seems to have become the new rule. Robo-Cop appears to be the new role model. Standing apart from the community (over and above?) seems to be the goal, rather than presenting ones self as a member of the community prepared to serve and protect. "Don't mess with me!" seems to have replaced "firm, fair, and friendly" for this next generation of cops.

I suppose I have made my opinions clear enough. Feel free to jump in with your comments.