Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A Pull Over Experience

Wanted to share my experience of interacting with US LEOs

So, I've finally accomplished my dream and visited the US (the Eastern side). Enjoyed it a lot - the NYC is as stunning as always, Boston and Philly are really nice places. And, guess what, managed to get myself pulled over in the process. I was driving towards my friend's place, who lives near Yonkers, NY. I've just exited the road named 100 or something like that at night, at somewhere around 1 am, and ran a stop sign (yep, had a brain fart). See lights behind me after that. I stop, the officer approaches me and the following exchange happens, not verbatim, just how I remember it:

Officer: You're on the job?
    Me: (????) Uuuumh... Yeees, Sir, I am employed...
    O: You county?
    M: (...) No, Sir, I work in a court (pause)
    O: (pause)
    Me: In a court in Moscow, Russia, you see, Sir, I'm a lawyer, I'm a foreigner, just visiting!
    O: (laughs loudly)

After that I gave him my paperwork and told it was a rental car. He told me that he won't summon me for my violation, advised to be more attentive and that a stop sign ticket can cost couple hundred $$$.

PS: English is my third language, it was late, I was really nervous (no ****) and I was completely not prepared to hear that 'on the job' question. I honestly thought he's asking whether I have a job, but as soon as I realised he meant differently I tried to explain myself. Why he asked that question I don't really understand, but guess he had reasons.

All in all, I think it was fun experience, I really appreciate how he carried himself and that he didn't summon me. I wish I've remembered the agency, but it was dark and all I saw were red lights. So thanks to all officers who patrol that area

A pleasant commentary on what might have become an unpleasant experience. I am pleased to hear that the officer handled the matter in a professional and courteous manner.