300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 8 hour shifts

I've seen a lot of threads on here about 10's and 12's, but does anybody here work 8 hour shifts? if so, how do you like it? I'm applying to a dept right now that does 8's. the BI said as a rookie I'd probably get crappy days off too, like tues/thurs, tues/weds, or something like that, not mention probably getting the evening shift 3-11, lol. I think I'd be more of a fan working 10's or 12's, but I really dont know. 8's just seem weird in policing. thanks a lot.

We work 8's 4 on 2 off, steady shifts (6a-2p/2p-10p/10p-6a). The 4/2 is nice in that the junior guys dont get screwed with working every weekend for the first 10 years.

Comment

We work 8 hours with 6 days on followed by 3 days off. It's nice due to rotating days off. You need to consider that in law enforcement you might work an 8 hour shift but it's not uncommon to have to stay beyond the 8 hour shift due to a last second call or followup.

3 days off means being able to do stuff on weekends with the family or getting household projects done.
      Prov 17:17 A friend loveth at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.

Comment

I wouldn't go back to working 8's unless it was by force. I'm only aware of one or two large agencies in Nebraska that still work 8's otherwise it's 12's with every other weekend off.
        Sometimes, doing the right thing means p***ing off the bosses.

"And shepherds we shall be, for thee my lord for thee."

Originally posted by dontknowwhy
        I still think troopers and deputies who work in the middle of no where with essentially no back up are the 'men among men' of the LEO world.
        Originally posted by weinerdog2000
        as far as your social experiment, if we cant film you then you cant film us, we will arrest you for obstruction of our freedom.

Comment

charlotte works 8's 5 on 2 off...