300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How hard is the secret service written test

I contacted a recruiter and was given a study guide. For the most part I did good, but what threw me off was figural reasoning. Basically you see 4 patterns and guess what the next one will be. It was much harder than I thought. I answed the first 5 correctly, although it took me entirely too long. I had a friend give me a suggestion to half guess what feels right and half figure it out. I was right on the 2 last questions, but I feel like I may have been completely lucky.

That portion kind of shot my confidence, I'm not sure I could do well on a timed test of that? Any tips or advice on that portion? And what are your thoughts on the overall test? And what can I do to prepare (background, I'm a cop and finishing my degree) thank you

If you can’t ace the study guide questions...
    Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

Those kinds of questions are pretty common in LE tests...I've seen them many times on various levels of tests. They're logic puzzles frequently designed to gauge "intelligence" (that is, measured IQ) without depending on learned skills like math or language. While I've never taken the Secret Service's test specifically, I have taken a federal-level LE test and I think you should be grateful...the test I took has a whole section of math, including things like fractions (which I hadn't done since sometime around junior high).

If you want to practice them, they're also very common on online IQ tests.
      Last edited by Bing_Oh; 03-14-2019, 10:31 PM.
      "He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster. And if you gaze for long into an abyss, the abyss gazes also into you."
      -Friedrich Nietzsche

Comment

• TheSlammer
        TheSlammer commented
        Editing a comment
        Ya, I took the postal police exam and I thought I was good at math...until youre timed and have to do long division