Collapse

Leaderboard Tablet

Collapse

Leaderboard Mobile

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Former sworn officer; Am I eligible to be a cop (again)

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Former sworn officer; Am I eligible to be a cop (again)

Hello All,

So, I know there are about one trillion topics on “can I be an officer.” I am posting here because I was a police officer for a local municipality in Idaho; Prior to that I was a federal BOP correctional officer, and before that a County correctional officer. I am wondering if I might have any shot at become an officer again? I was a fully-sworn police officer, but got terminated as a probationary employee due to a domestic incident. My then girlfriend also got charged and convicted. I was given a deferred judgement agreement where I plead to all charges (Battery and DC) but these were dismissed after I served one year of “county” probation. I have a Master’s degree in CJ, as well as a Bachelors in CJ and Psych. I currently work in a manufacturing plant, but want to see if I might be eligible to be hired as a CO at the local, state or federal level? All charges were officially dismissed against me and I have moved to the state of Illinois for a fresh start. I know I probably do not have a shot at being a sworn officer again, but given my experience and educational background I am wondering if anyone knows of a department who might be willing to take a chance on me.

I assume I will get a lot of you do not belong in law enforcement, I can concur that being a sworn officer is not really a realistic goal, but maybe a correctional facility hurting “badly” for warm bodies might take a chance. Being able to get back into the BOP would be great, but I wanted to put myself out there and see what people have to say. Thanks for the feedback both good and bad, again it is expected. Really any help or job leads would be great.