300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Learning the Town

I have a problem, I absolutely positively love this work. I am currently an auxilary officer in a town (basically we are a 2nd officer in the car) and I just love to do this. I am starting to apply to other towns in hope of getting hired. The thing that scares me is that I SUCK with directions and street names. I have been doing the auxilary thing in my small suburb for almost a year and I still struggle with streets that I don't see too often. I know I don't drive them everyday, but I am worried that when I get hired by a pd I will be fired because lack of knowledge of the street. Do you guys know good ways to learn streets of your city? I know its probably not a common problem but its getting on my nerves.
    Rock Out with your Glock out
    "If you can't hit em......Crown Vic em"

MAPSCO? (filler to lengthen post)

Comment

Repetition,repetition,repetition,.It will be different when you are driving and not just riding.Also while on patrol and it is slow DONT,take the same routes all the time ,explore,learn shortcuts etc.You will be suprised how often you will say to yourself "holy crap,I didn't know this road came out here."I patrol a parish of 750 sq.miles,I just moved here 4 years ago,Dapples has lived here all her life and has to ask me where certain roads are and whats the best routes.
      Sleeping Giant. They're not fat and happy anymore. They are hungry and increasingly angry. That is not a good recipe for a "Puppies and Rainbows America".

Comment

Being geographically challenged may be a more common problem than you think. Some guys catch on fast and remember all the names & locations.

Others , like myself , struggle and have to rely on maps.

I've found that it may take me a couple extra minutes to reference the maps...but I'm the only one who recognizes my shortfall.

Therefore .... it's not very bothersome. Two minutes doesn't impact many situations.