300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Professional courtesy for student?

I doubt many of you would but I was fortunate enough that I got two tickets recently removed due to the fact that I was a CJ student. I didn't tell the officer when they pulled me over, but approached them later explaining the situation, saying I was willing to pay the fine but wanted a ticket without points so that it wouldn't DQ me from getting hired on by a department. Expecting them to show up to court and ask that I receive a no point ticket, both chose not to show up at all. The first one told me he would dismiss it, and the second one was sent an e-mail by his supervisor letting him know I was a CJ student, wasn't trying to get out of the ticket and that I just wanted a no point ticket, but he never called me back, I assumed his absence at the trial was intentional. I don't intentionally violate the law with the hope of getting out of tickets this way, I just happened to make two isolated mistakes.

My question, do you feel PC extends to those going to school for CJ? I am not referring to any average joe who takes a CJ class but rather someone who has declared it their major and is dedicating themselves to it. This question also assumes the violator did not commit the violation with the intention of receiving PC if caught. What do you guys think?
    Last edited by michiganDT; 03-20-2007, 02:19 PM.

I believe CJ students are almost totally removed from the expectation of professional courtesy from Law Enforcement, however I have had a ticket taken care of once the officer learned of my aspirations.

I don't expect it. If I get it, that's great but if not I can live with it.
    A true soldier fights not because he hates what is in front of him, but because he loves what is behind him.

-GK Chesterton

Comment