300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• question for corrections officers

Hello all, first let me state for the record i am a security officer and i know i may get flammed for being one and posting, but i would like to ask a question of the corrections officers here...

1. question - In your state do corrections officers wear and/or are sworn in by the local county sheriff or state dept, or do they were "jail/prison" specific uniforms and hold civilian positions or is it a mix of both ?
    here in utah as far as i know our jails are ran by local sheriffs, corrections officers where the county sheriff uniforms, they are sworn positions, although there are a few civilian positions such as clerks.....
    in utah we also have private correctional institutes which are civialian staffed by private companys such as mtc.......

2. question - In your state are corrections officers required to complete p.o.s.t training ?

3. question - In your state are corrections officers allowed full LEO powers ? (i.e enable to initate a traffic stop if in a county sheriff vehicle? even though its a jail/prision vehicle?) im not 100 % sure about this in utah, but i do know that a sworn leo, in the state of utah has juristidition over the entire state and not nessecarliy the department boundries to which he is employed, meaning a salt lake city cop, could pull you over in st.george if he felt like it... or a university cop could pull you over in the city, while off campus.... just curious if the it is the same in other states..

i am looking to possible join salt lake county sheriff department as a correctional officer.. with in the next 1-2 years..

so any input would be helpful.

thanks much