300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• YAY

Well, finally, after waiting for so long, I called up the chief for my old city and told him who I was, how old, and how I had been allowed to ride along with Austin PD this summer while I was an intern. He agreed to let me do a ridealong next week during an evening shift with one of his officers. I'm very excited. Now I just hope I don't make a complete a** out of myself.

Any tips? (on how not to make an a** out of myself )

Tex
    KD5HQD

[ 08-16-2002, 01:59 PM: Message edited by: kd5hqd ]

Wear nice clothes, bring lunch money. Stay quiet, don't bug the officer. Wait to ask questions until you two are alone. Don't ever interrupt or speak in a situation involving other parties unless directly spoken to. And remember, you are not an officer, only an observer.

I'm sure you already know that but I have known of some Explorers and observers who start thinking that just because they are riding along, that they are in some sort of authority position.
    No partner is worth your tears -
    the one that is won't make you cry. - Anonymous

<a href="http://www.renderosity.com/gallery.ez?Form.SortOrder=UserName&Start=1&Artist= Raychel&ByArtist=Yes" target="_blank">My Photo Gallery</a>

Comment

Yes, I do know to wear nice clothes. I did several with APD. One was after a roundup. One of the guys I had gone with during the roundup offered to take me the rest of the day (he was with a narc division) and we got to drive around in a marked unit, waiting for a call from an undercover about someone buying drugs at a location. (when we got the call we were going to pull over the vehicle for any traffic violation and then offer them a deal: tell us what you just did, who was there, etc... and you can go) That was very fun.

I also did the alcohol stings which were fun.